Several years ago Outline started as a tool to reach OneNote notebooks on Apple devices. Right now it is a wholesome separate application that provides users with an easy and intuitive way to organize their thoughts, ideas and day-to-day activities. Outline has a simple yet powerful structure. There are:
Notebook is a main level of organization. Usually, it is a book devoted to one certain topic.
Create a new notebook, by hitting + in the navigation tree on the left or open one of the notebooks that already exist in your local or cloud storage. You can customize your notebook by changing its cover in Notebook's Properties.
Possible syncing options are available here: https://help.outline.app/article/143-syncing-options-in-outline
Since Outline can be synchronized with Microsoft OneNote and changes its format and structure to OneNote format, it is impossible to rename notebooks within Outline. To change the name of a notebook, you need to rename a local folder where its files are stored. Please keep in mind that once you renamed a notebook, it has to be re-opened from the storage to get in sync again.
For your convenience we added a possibility to find the location of your notebook:
- right-click on a notebook's cover and choose Show in Finder. You`ll be redirected to a
folder which contains this notebook.
This option is available for Local, Dropbox and Box notebooks.
In case you don't see Show in Finder option, check your notebook's Properties. It must be located on OneDrive, WebDAV or iCloud. You'll see the corresponding titles in Properties > Location.
In this case you shall be able to find your notebook by searching for its name in Finder. You can Locate your OneDrive folder by searching for Storageone in This Mac:
in this folder you shall find the folders with your notebooks.
If you want to delete a notebook from the navigation tree, right-click on its name and choose Close / Move to Trash. The notebook will disappear from the app, but to fully delete all notebook files from Mac, please go to a folder it is saved in, right-click and choose Move to Trash.
NOTE: There are different options for local and cloud stored notebook: you'll see Close option
available for Local notebooks and Move to Trash for cloud based.